Individual Certification Levels

Certified Schema Therapist: Therapists at this level are certified to practice schema therapy, participate in outcome studies, and to train or supervise other therapists at a basic level only with the supervision of an Advanced level Trainer-supervisor within an approved training program. They are not qualified to run a training program, rate sessions, or offer supervision on difficult cases.

Advanced Certified Schema Therapist: Certified to treat all patients, participate in outcome studies, and to apply for certification as a supervisor/trainer/rate others, and to run training programs after three years of practice as a certified schema therapist. 

Certified Schema Supervisor/Trainer: 

Want More Information About Certification Levels? Visit a detailed description of requirements for individual schema therapy certification.



Why Schema Therapy?

Schema therapy has been extensively researched to effectively treat a wide variety of typically treatment resistant conditions, including Borderline Personality Disorder and Narcissistic Personality Disorder. Read our summary of the latest research comparing the dramatic results of schema therapy compared to other standard models of psychotherapy.

"Be the Change You Help Create"

Whether you are a clinician, researcher, educator, or a supporter, we have a place for you in our community. Visit our "Join us" page to find out more about the many benefits ISST offers, and to apply for membership now.
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software